Back to top













2018 IIE Scholar Rescue Fund Forum:
Protecting Scholarship and Promoting Partnerships

Location: 809 United Nations Plaza, 12th Floor, New York, NY 10017
Date: March 9, 2018
Summary: The 2018 IIE-SRF Forum convened partners from diverse sectors -including higher education, human rights, government, and philanthropy - to address the urgent need to protect scholars around the world who have suffered under repression and conflict. IIE-SRF fellows and alumni reflected on their experiences, hosting institutions and partnering organizations explored best practices for supporting threatened scholars globally, and historical perspectives on scholar rescue helped inform the growing number of contemporary initiatives that support academics under threat.
Speaker bios: Click here
Agenda:  All times are listed according to Eastern Standard Time (New York). 

For a summary of the 2018 Forum, including pictures, click here.


8:30 AM  -  9:15 AM
Coffee and registration
9:15 AM  -  9:30 AM
Sarah Willcox, Director, IIE Scholar Rescue Fund
9:30 AM  -  11:15 AM
Panel I: 2017 in Review: Scholar Voices
IIE-SRF Fellow from India, Connecticut College
IIE-SRF Alumnus from Syria
IIE-SRF Fellow from Turkey, Cornell University
IIE-SRF Fellow from Yemen, University of Oklahoma
Moderated by Rick H. Lee, Director of Global Programs and Relations, Centers for Global Advancement & International Affairs, Rutgers University
11:15 AM  -  11:45 AM
Coffee break
11:45 AM  -  12:00 PM Presentation of the Outstanding Scholar Award
Kamiar Alaei,
IIE-SRF Alumnus from Iran, University at Albany
Arash Alaei, IIE-SRF Alumnus from Iran, Tajikistan National AIDS program
Presented by Maxmillian Angerholzer III, Executive Vice President, IIE

The Outstanding Scholar Award is given to Dr. Kamiar Alaei and Dr. Arash Alaei in recognition of their exceptional achievements during and after the IIE-SRF fellowship, and their advocacy for and assistance to displaced and persecuted students and scholars.

12:00 PM - 12:15 PM Presentation of the “Henry G. Jarecki Award” to Canada as an exemplary host country, accepted by Khawar Nasim, Deputy Consul General, Consulate General of Canada in New York
Presented by Mark A. Angelson, Vice Chairman, IIE and Chairman, IIE Scholar Rescue Fund

The Henry G. Jarecki Award honors Canada as an exemplary safe haven for threatened scholars. The award is named after the IIE Scholar Rescue Fund Co-Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Dr. Henry G. Jarecki.

12:15 PM  -  12:30 PM
Presentation of the "Beacon Award"
University of Alberta, accepted by Britta Baron, Vice-Provost and
Associate Vice-President, University of Alberta
Presented by Allan E. Goodman, President & CEO, IIE
The Beacon Award is given to the University of Alberta for its extraordinary commitment to preserving the lives, voices, and ideas of persecuted scholars by providing dedicated assistance and creating a safe academic haven for scholars to continue their work.
12:30 PM  -  2:00 PM
2:00 PM  -  2:30 PM
In Conversation with IIE-SRF Chairman Mark A. Angelson and IIE President & CEO Allan E. Goodman
Moderated by Maxmillian Angerholzer III, Executive Vice President, IIE
2:30 PM  -  3:45 PM
Panel II: Motivations for and Models of Scholar Rescue: What our Partners Are Doing
Maija Airas, Counsellor of Education, Finnish National Agency for Education (EDUFI)
Daniela Kaisth, President, Gratias Partners / Coordinator, Baden-Württemberg Fund for Persecuted Scholars
Kader Konuk, Director, Academy in Exile / Professor and Chair of Turkish Studies, University of Duisburg-Essen
Laura Lohéac, Executive Director, Programme d’Aide à l’Accueil en Urgence des Scientifiques en Exil (PAUSE)
Moderated by Sarah Willcox, Director, IIE Scholar Rescue Fund
3:45 PM  -  4:15 PM
Coffee break
4:15 PM  -  5:20 PM New York Premiere of Science in Exile
Edward W. Lempinen,
Public Information Officer, The World Academy of Sciences
IIE-SRF alumnus from Syria, Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Moderated by James R. King, Assistant Director, IIE Scholar Rescue Fund
5:20 PM - 5:30 PM Closing remarks  
5:30 PM  -  6:30 PM